What are the Sex Offender Registration Guidelines in Missouri?


All states are part of a registration and tracking system for sex offenders. The requirements in Missouri include allowing law enforcement to collect DNA samples from all registered sex offenders, and to store this information in a database, which could be accessed later to identify or rule out registered offenders.

There are several laws that impact sex offenders, including Megan's Law, the Jacob Wetterling Act, the Pam Lychner Sexual Offender Tracking Law, the Campus Sex Crimes Prevention Act, and the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006.

The offenses that require sex offender registration in Missouri include kidnapping (excluding parental kidnapping), promoting prostitution (first, second and third degree), sexual exploitation of a minor, promoting child pornography (first and second degree), possession of child pornography or furnishing minors with pornographic images, publicly displaying explicit sexual material, promoting obscenity (first degree), incest, and many others.

Within 3 days of a conviction, or being released after serving a sentence for a sex offense, or being placed on probation, the convicted person is required to register in person with the chief law enforcement officer in the area. A "statement of registration" must be submitted, as well as fingerprints. You may be required to pay a fee to register. The registration includes name, date of birth, social security number, description (height, age, sex, race, weight), addresses for home, work and school or any temporary address, photographs (new every year), vehicle information, type of offense, dates of offenses, release date, driver's license copy, vehicle registration, online names or identifying information, palm prints, and DNA sample.

If you move, you are required to submit this information. Certain convicted sex offenders are restricted from living within 1,000 feet of any school or childcare facility, while others may have a 500 foot restriction. Some may be restricted from being closer than 500 feet to certain types of facilities, such as public swimming pools or playgrounds. The penalty for failing to register is a felony. If you fail to register within the time required, punishments are imposed, and a third offense could mean 10 – 30 years in prison.

For information about sex crime defense in St. Louis, contact the Sumner Law Group, LLC.